Spiderweb Games - Jeff Vogel on Avadon on Steam

aries100

SasqWatch
Jeff Vogel has updated his Spiderweb blog talking about why he released the game on Steam and its Steam price.

A few quotes:
Unsurprisingly, I'm pretty excited about it. After 16 years of being a tiny, invisible, basement-dwelling bottom feeder, for a few precious weeks, I get to act like I'm a real developer. With a real distributor, a nice trailer video, and everything. Yes, there will be money, and that's always nice, but it's the recognition I'm sort of focused on now.
Another quote:
So I'm charging $10 on Steam and for the iPad. By the standards of that market, it's a hefty price, enough for me to earn my living. It's cheap enough to work as an impluse buy. It isn't the $1 or $2 price that I'm still sure would put me out of business.

This means I need to adjust the prices I charge on my own web site. I have changed the price of Avadon to $20, and in the future we will very likely reduce the prices of our earlier games as well. Our next game, Avernum: Escape From the Pit will start out at $20. If this grand experiment works well, we may make future games cheaper still, though I doubt any new game on our own web site will ever go below $15.

More information.

Is there any real difference between the Steam version and the one on his site (outside of having to use steam)?

Also, what does he mean by 'a few weeks'? Is the game only available for a limited time?

Is there any real difference between the Steam version and the one on his site (outside of having to use steam)?

Also, what does he mean by 'a few weeks'? Is the game only available for a limited time?

I haven't actually gotten it but I did notice there were Steam achievements so there's that but it doesn't look like much else is changed as far as I can tell.