Stardew Valley - Move to Self Publish

Silver

Spaceman
Staff Member
Eric Barone(ConcernedApe) will be self publishing Stardew Valley in future meaning Chucklefish will not be involved going forward.

Hi everyone,

I've got a pretty big announcement today.

Starting December 14th, I'll begin self-publishing Stardew Valley on PC, XBOX, PS4, and PSVITA. On those platforms, I (ConcernedApe) will be both publisher and developer. However, Chucklefish will remain publisher on Nintendo Switch and Mobile platforms.

When I first released Stardew Valley, I was a complete novice to the video game industry. Chucklefish, as my publisher, oversaw the distribution, console ports and translations of the game. They set up the official wiki and helped me redesign the website, to great effect. And of course,Tom Coxon did amazing work adding network code to the game, making multiplayer a reality.

But I'm at a point now where I'm ready to move forward on my own. I think self-publishing is the end-goal of most indie developers, and I'm happy to be in a place where that's possible!

Expect some more announcements concerning the future of Stardew Valley soon... stay tuned!

-Ape

From Chucklefish:

We are proud to be part of the Stardew Valley story and wish ConcernedApe every success with his new self-publishing venture. We will carry on working closely together and are particularly excited to be continuing to publish the versions of Stardew Valley for Nintendo Switch and Mobile, including the upcoming Switch Multiplayer update (in submission now) and new Android version which we know many of you are looking forward to! - Chucklefish
More information.

Good for him this means more money in his pocket, but it also means more work.