Obsidian Entertainment - Game Reveal Soon

Silver

Spaceman
Staff Member
@VideoGamesChronicle According to an Obsidian developer one of its games in development will be revealed soon.

Another Obsidian developer has suggested that the studio may be soon ready to show off one of the games it currently has in development.

Hannah Kennedy, a concept artist at Obsidian who previously worked on The Outer Worlds tweeted: "Man... it's gunna be extremely cool when I can finally share what I've been working on for the last 2 years."

This was followed by the eyes emoji, which is regularly used on Twitter to denote that the poster has a secret they'd like to share.

Following this, designer Josh Sawyer replied to Kennedy with the 'prayer' emoji.

[...]

The game reportedly features swimming gameplay and may include some destructible environments too.

The Xbox and Bethesda Games Showcase will be held on Sunday, June 12.

The event will start at 10am PT / 1pm ET / 6pm BST and will be streamed in over 30 languages on the likes of YouTube, Twitch and Facebook.
More information.

Haven't we already seen Avowed? I thought they had TOW2, Avowed and Josh's secret project in development. Maybe it is Josh's game given his tweet?

Is Obsidian so large now that they can develop three AAA titles simultaneously?

I guess if you are talking AAA it would be Avowed, TOW2 and Grounded (the MMO). I would think Obsidian would currently be one of the larger game dev sutdios out there which is suprising considering how close they came to Bankruptcy not too long ago.

From what I have picked up over the last couple of years:
  • Josh's game has a core team of 12 people and will bring in more people only for specific tasks.
  • It has a codename "Pentiment" and it is set in the late medieval period i.e. lots of social unrest, famine etc.
  • The game is narrative focused like Disco Elysium.
  • The game is being built in Unity. This is based on Job offers Josh has posted on Twitter.