JRPG Masterpieces

Elel

Devout Priestess of RPGs
I'm sure there are many topics like this, but none on this board yet :)

And it'll be useful to me personally. I'm rather new to JRPGs (started playing them about 2 years ago), so I'm looking for "must play" games, preferably the classics, as time-confirmed masterpieces. Right now Lunar, Grandia, Xenogears, and old Final Fantasy games are on my list.

Post away which games you consider classics and why they're "must plays" (if you post reasons, it will be more interesting for others to read your list). And if you can, please mention if they have any of these done exceptionally well: story\plot, characters, writing (this is for me, as I'd prefer games which shine in these areas).

Excellent thread. :heart:

-Chrono Trigger (SNES, Nintendo DS) - Possibly the best RPG ever made. Chrono Trigger shook up the entire genre and changed the way games were made forever. 10/10 on story, characters, writing, music, and art. It succeeds everywhere.
-Persona 4 Golden (PS Vita - original on PS2) - A JRPG that's amazing all around. Whether it's a dungeon crawler you're looking for, or fun combat, or distinctive characters brimming with personality…even a dating sim. P4G has it all.
(I know you're familiar with this one, but I wanted to list it anyway)
-Fire Emblem: Awakening (Nintendo 3DS) - The familiar tactical wargame setup of Fire Emblem comes back, but this time with an even richer story, better art, and better score. The choices you make - and your character interactions - will shape the future.
-Final Fantasy Tactics (PS1, PSP) - My personal favorite Final Fantasy game. This game pioneered the job system that Final Fantasy would be known for. An excellent score, a somber story, and challenging party management and combat.