Tower of Time - Review

Silver

Spaceman
Staff Member
Tower of Time was reviewed by Fextralife.

Tower of Time is a tactical RPG that pits your party against the mysterious floors of an upside down tower that will determine the fate of Artara. Do you have what it takes to make it through all 11?

This game is now available on Steam if you're interested!
Thanks Farflame!

More information.

Every-time I see this games title I always think of The Wheel of Time.:biggrin:

I started playing this some time ago but my interest quickly faded. It's extremely simplistic to the point that I found myself just spamming the same abilities in combat over and over.

Furthermore, it feels weird from a story-telling standpoint: the character with the most vested interest in discovering the secrets within this "tower of time" doesn't actually pass beyond the first area; everything is done via his underlings and he'll occasionally execute scripted events "telepathically".

If I ever get out of playing these older games rut that I've been stuck in for a few months now, this is a title I'll surely pick up. I just keep hearing so many interesting details that I won't be able to ignore it forever.

This is an excellent game for an indie developer. I quite like the story hook. If you think it is simplistic you obviously are not playing on the hardest difficulty which is reasonable tough. Given the choice of party members, some of which have different viable builds helps the diversity.

At the highest difficulty quite a bit of min-max is needed but at lower difficulty each character has several viable builds and the combat can be quite speedy if you like real time. At the hardest difficulty liberal pausing is required.

I bought this based on a lot of positive feedback and my response after a few hours is....

Meh.