Sacred 2?

souha13

Sentinel
I'm leaning towards trying Sacred 2 but I never tried Sacred 1. I like hack n slash and free roaming worlds (get annoyed with nwn 2, crappy witcher and mass effect). But the classes kinda turn me off.

How well is the story, npc interaction and general atmosphere in the game. I prefer more mature settings.

I liked Sacred 1, but I must say that I prefer "lighthearted" themes - visually, too.
Free Roaming is there, a lot of ! There are always a few things new to discover ... even whole small villages ! ;)
Other than that I cannot say, since I'm no ARPG expert. I keep away from this genre, normally. Sacred was my last try in it.

The Witcher "crappy"? I don't think our tastes align enough for me to advise but Sacred is particularly weak with story and NPC interaction. In Sacred 1, the quests were mostly randomly generated, with the quality you'd expect from that. The world is too large to develop NPCs to any worthwhile depth, especially since you'll be moving on quickly to new areas. It's not mature - standard high-fantasy cliche, down to chainmail bikinis.

Sacred is free on GameTap and there's the Sacred 2 demo, so you have plenty of opportunity to try for yourself.

NWN2, The Witcher, and Mass Effect are not hack'n slash games, so if you prefer Diablo 2-ish games, you really should go for Titan Quest, Sacred 1-2, etc. I liked the classes in TQ better than Sacred, but that's a matter of personal taste.

Oh I like both hack n slash and crpgs. Gothic 1 and 2, Bg2, Morrowind, Kotor 2.. are games I loved. Witchers npcs (felt cliché to me, the very thing reviewers said it wasnt), fighting and loading put me off. Dragon age, diablo 3, dungeon lords, fallout 3, there are so many good games coming out soon that makes me drool.

Well that sounds quite bad Dhruin. Ill check out the demo.
Thx for answers.

The demo of Sacred2 was good, I can advice, if you like ARPG-s. It's free roaming, you can always find something new to discover.