Your donations keep RPGWatch running!

Life is Strange

Life Is Strange is an episodic interactive drama graphic adventure video game developed by Dontnod Entertainment, and published by Square Enix. The game's plot focuses on Max Caulfield, a photography student who discovers that she has the ability to rewind time at any moment, leading her every choice to enact the butterfly effect. The game will consist of five episodes. With seven weeks between each episode, it released its first on 30 January 2015. Life Is Strange is available for Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3, Xbox One and Xbox 360 via digital distribution.

In the game, story and character arc serve as the central point rather than traditional graphic adventure tropes like point-and-click puzzles. The player's actions will be able to adjust the narrative as it unfolds, and reshape it once allowed to travel back in time. Themes of memory and identity are used to convey an adolescent sense of nostalgia, while the allegory of inner struggle is derived from the mystical aspects.

Box Art

Information about

Life is Strange

Developer: Dontnod Entertainment

SP/MP: Single-player
Setting: Modern
Genre: Adventure-RPG
Combat: None
Play-time: 10-20 hours
Voice-acting: Full

Regions & platforms
· Platform: PC
· Released: 2015-01-29
· Publisher: Square Enix